On Blogging

I’m little nervous about entering cyberspace in this way, I can’t lie.  It feels a bit like walking around naked.  Why expose myself and my thinking?  Or, thinking of it another way, who is being exposed?

Blogging is one more way of presenting ourselves to the world.  As such it feels narcissistic and arrogant, not the kind of self I want to be presenting.  It also seems that the whole idea of social media is centered on narcissism and arrogance.  Who am I that I think I’m important enough that people should be reading my ideas?  On the other hand, who am I that I think I have nothing to offer?  (And the irony of the number of “I’s” in the previous sentences is not lost on me.)

Michael Wesch is an anthropology professor at Kansas State University.  He does some incredible work with social media.  One of the questions he works with is that of identity.  If our identity is developed socially, that is, if we learn to see ourselves at least in part through the eyes of others, then how is identity developed with the advent of social media?  How do Facebook, Twitter, etc. affect our identity development? 

See Wesch’s presentation here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/mwesch#p/u/1/09gR6VPVrpw

So I’m hoping (and we’ll see) that blogging is one more opportunity for change and growth.  That involvement in this form of media will affect who I am, who I present myself as, my voice the world, and, most importantly, who am I becoming.  So is it narcissistic and arrogant?  It’s hard to argue against that.  But if it helps in growth, and the conscious awareness of who we are becoming, then that benefits all, and may be the highest form of generosity.  Let’s hope.

One response to “On Blogging

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

